Clarion West Write-a-thon update

Here’s my page for the Clarion West 2007 Write-a-thon. To finish Channel Zilch by the end of July I have to start writing now, and I’ve been writing regularly.

I finished transcribing voice notes and got a ton of useful stuff. I spent tonight doing some new plotting, tightening up the back story and central motivation for the whole stealing-a-space-shuttle schtick. It’s coming together easier than I feared. I am reconfiguring a pretty big piece of the back story, so I wasn’t sure whether I’d have to cut 10k words or so. Turns out I’ll have to cut very little because of plot concerns. I’ll cut maybe 3k because the prose isn’t up to snuff.

It’s been years since I did any original work on CZ so it feels great. I did a few paragraphs of new writing and I got right into it.

When I write I tend to lose myself in my characters and what they’re up to at the moment. When I used to write at coffee shops in Seattle I’d sometimes find myself acting out exchanges of dialog, oblivious to the others around me.

I love it when I’m acting out a bit and the character does something that completely floors me. Heloise – the scarey geek pinup who is the brains behind the Channel Zilch scam – often surprises me at the things she says when I’m acting out a bit of her dialog.

Leave a Reply

